Some of My Newly Discovered Favorite Things

Long time, no blog. I apologize for our absence. It’s been a crazy last few months with surgeries, travels, and everything in between. I admire anyone who can blog regularly during the summer. I thought I’d break the dry spell with a little post on an assortment of things that I have discovered since the last time we spoke.

Category 1: Entertainment

Hotwives of Orlando

Hotwives_of_Orlando

I’ve never watched any of the Real Housewives series, but even for a newbie this spoof from Hulu still hits all the absurd notes. I’ve been a fan of Casey Wilson since Happy Endings (may it R.I.P. or be resurrected by Netflix) and the rest of the cast (including a memorable Kristen Schaal as a former child star turned train wreck) totally sell the hilarious story lines. If you are looking for a comedy with substance, this isn’t it, but it’s a perfect little diversion for days that are too hot to go outside (I do not enjoy feeling like I am living in a sauna from which there is no escape). You can’t go wrong with a show that brings you the line, “This is Orlando. You go big or you go back to Kissimmee.”

Category 2: Beauty

I’m always on the lookout for good standbys that I can rely on day in and day out, season after season. I’m sure you ladies reading this post understand.

I don’t know how they do it, but my lips manage to stay chapped even in the summer months. It would be impressive if it wasn’t so damn annoying. Enter cult classic Lucas Papaw. One application a day has kept the chapped lips away. I’m applying some right now. It isn’t just for chapped lips. You can also use the ointment on cuts, bruises, basically any skin malady. You can buy a 3-pack from Net-a-Porter. Those babies should last you throughout the year.

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-26 at 3.44.57 PM

Eyeliner is one of those products that I have a lot of, but my application lacks skill of any kind. Most of the time it just looks like I let a kindergartener trace my eye with a unsharpened crayon. Votre Vu’s eyeliner is super creamy so it makes drawing a breeze. Better yet, it comes with a little smudger on the other end so you can get that perfect hazy coat of color worn by actors, singers, anyone with a makeup artist on hand (you know the look–like you’ve just finished making out with Idris Elba before realizing you had to go to a red carpet). My favorite colors are Charbon and Aubergine.

tbp6545253_v0_l

 

One thought on “Some of My Newly Discovered Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

