Chicken Enchilada Bake (For Two!)

 photo

Hey all! No, I’m not dead….just in the midst of end of the school year madness. I’ll try to pop up here occasionally to attempt to keep my sanity. ANYWAYS, I thought I’d share a new recipe I made last night and LOVED! I was craving some Mexican food and decided the easier the better (see above for why). Luckily, I found a great 4 ingredient recipe on Pinterest. I downsized it to make it perfect for two and also added in some veggies to make me feel a tiny bit healthier. I added leftover summer squash that I had from grilling, onion, and a bit of kale but any veggies you like would work. Corn or mushrooms would go really well with the dish too. I took a picture of it pre-cooking. I apologize for my horrific food pictures–my kitchen has horrible lighting.

 

Chicken Enchilada Bake (For Two)

Ingredients

  • 1 can (14 oz or so) of enchilada sauce
  • 3, 6-inch corn tortillas
  • diced veggies (I used like 1/4 cup onions, 1/2 cup kale, and 1/2 cup summer squash–you can easily omit this
  • 8 oz boneless skinless chicken (sliced into like 4 smaller pieces)
  • 1 1/4 cup cheese (cheddar or whatever kind you like)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. In a cooking pot, put in enchilada sauce, veggies, and chicken. Cook on medium-low heat about 20 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
  3. When chicken is cooked, take out of sauce and shred it using forks. Set aside and keep separate from the sauce with veggies.
  4. In a small baking dish, put a small layer of the sauce with veggies. Then put one tortilla. If your baking dish is larger, might need two tortillas for each layer. Mine worked perfect with one.
  5. Then put 1/3 of pulled chicken on top of tortilla, then 1/3 of sauce mix, then 1/3 cup of cheese.
  6. Repeat the steps for two more layers . For last cheese layer, put rest of cheese on top finally.
  7. Place dish in oven for 20-30 minutes.
  8. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

