Stress Relief

I don’t know about you all, but I feel like this time of the year is when my stress levels go sky high and I have a hard time shaking the winter blues. Even though the holiday craziness is over, it is still dreary winter and will be for the next….3 months (or in Minnesota, probably up until May. I’m only partly kidding). BLAH. And for a teacher, it’s the time of the year when breaks are basically over, save for a long weekend for Easter. Sigh. I’m someone who easily gets stressed out and have been trying to find ways to occupy my time and decompress. Working out is always a good way to help, though I’ve been bad about it the last few months. But I’ve recommitted myself to keeping exercise a priority in my life. Also, two other things I’ve picked back up are knitting and meditation. I love the repetitive and rhythmic feel of knitting, as well as the instant progress you can see on a project. It makes me feel more productive, even if I am just watching tv as I do it. It seems to calm my nerves as well and requires not too much brainpower. Meditation is something that works really well for me at night. I love the Meditation Oasis app, especially the sleep one. It comes with a bunch of different sleep meditation. Even when I’m tired, my brain tends to race at night when I am stressed and this helps me focus on something more soothing. I usually fall asleep within 5 minutes of listening to one, which is always a good thing! I also love that it is an all natural way to get to sleep that doesn’t rely on medication.

Anyone else have any good ideas for stress relieving hobbies/activities? I’m always looking for ideas!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

