Books and TV Shows That Will Keep Me Busy into the New Year

Blog Collage

Homeland’s season is done, movies cost a freakish amount, so how else can I occupy the hours spent indoors during my winter hibernation? As you may have guessed from the title of this post, t.v. shows and books are going to be my constant companions. Here is what I am going to be watching/reading over the next few months:

Television

The Wire: Pretty much any “best television series ever” list ranks this HBO heavy-hitter as one of the best to grace the small screen. I am almost done with the first season and I certainly see the appeal. I have a soft spot for Omar (as does President Obama). Also: Idris Elba. Grab the smelling salts, I am about to swoon every time he comes on screen!

Six Feet UnderOkay, so I have already watched the complete series, but I am in the process of rewatching it as my parents view it for the first time. I am glad that it holds up years later. Nothing is more disappointing than revisiting an old favorite and finding it lacking.

Books

Awakenings: I already read another book about the sleeping sickness that struck Europe and the United States in the early twentieth century. This one, however, is by the great Oliver Sacks (a frequent guest on one of my favorite podcasts, Radiolab). He recounts case studies of patients in the late 1960s with an eloquence that appeals to people far beyond medical readers.

Victoria’s Daughters: Me and my British royalty obsession. Queen Victoria has mostly been sidelined from my reading list in favor of standbys such as Eleanor of Aquitaine. She always struck me as someone very conventional (in a very unconventional position). Her daughters have quite the stories themselves, giving those who love juicy royal scandal the drama that Queen Vicky avoided (for the most part).

Anyone else starting a new t.v. series or book that they want to share? Please tell!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

