I’m Alive! AKA I’ve Sucked Lately as a Blogger…

the wire

First, I gotta give props to my wonderful sister Erin for picking up the slack these last few weeks (or months, cough) that I’ve been AWOL. I have no real big reason to why I have been so bad about it, just a wide variety of things that distracted me in the last few weeks–health scare with my dad, traveling, sickness, visitors, pure laziness, etc. So before Erin smugly reminds me that she is a much better blogger than me (true), I just wanted to recap some big things going on lately.

1. I’ve had a tough week or two lately teaching. Nothing huge and monumentally awful, just some difficult small issues with a few students. Like always in teaching, there’s always an ebb and flow and lately I’ve just been feeling exhausted by this particular rough patch. Still, I always have to look at the bright side. I’m lucky enough to have my own classroom and the incredible students and their works always has to outshine the crappier moments.

2. Kyle and Aimee visited Kevin and I unexpectedly in Minneapolis last week due to some bad weather and issues at our cottage. It ended up being a really awesome weekend! We went to Psycho Suzi’s, indulged in some amazing tropical drinks in the midst of the Minnesota winter, hung out with some friends and introduced Kyle and Aimee to them, went to a comedy show, and heck, I even braved the Mall of America the Saturday after Thanksgiving! It was a great time and I can’t wait to have more people visit, maybe in the spring when more are willing to trek up north!

3. Kevin and I started a new show that we’ve been always meaning to watch, “The Wire!” It was a bit slow at first, as we were introduced to the many characters. However, we definitely got really into it. I love how it focuses each season on a different institution in Baltimore–it starts with the first season focusing on the drug world and the second season, which we just started, is on transportation and the waterways. Still, it deals with so many heavy issues that are rarely so honestly shown on tv. It gives depth to all the characters, even the traditional “bad” guys. Plus Idris Elba, my main man crush lately, plays a very intelligent entrepreneur/head of the drug trade. All the characters are realistically flawed in their own way. And they certainly are not scared to kill off main characters. I’m excited for one of the future seasons when they focus on education. I would definitely recommend that you check it out or even buy it as a Christmas gift for any friends or family (um, but make sure it’s family who can handle some adult language and such obviously).

4. I am anxiously awaiting my Cancun trip! I went for the first time in May and it was also my first experience with an all-inclusive. We are headed to another all-inclusive resort this time, with Kevin’s sister and brother-in-law joining Kevin and me! I can’t wait to escape this insane Minnesota cold and drink a ridiculous amount of tropical drinks!

Anyways, I promise I’ll be blogging here more in the Christmas season!

One thought on “I’m Alive! AKA I’ve Sucked Lately as a Blogger…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

