A Follow Up to the Male Gynecologist Post

dr office

Looking back at my previous posts, I realized I never did write a follow up report about seeing the male gynecologist for the first time. Which may have happened for a good reason as…it was almost sitcom level awkward. No wonder I was avoiding it. So let me set the scene for you. The nurse asks if it is okay if the doctor brings a medical resident or something along those lines with him. Because I don’t want to be mean, I say ‘yes.’ Well, in walks the male doctor AND his male medical resident, who is understandably a bit nervous. I’m sitting in the room with the doctor, who, while nice, is very stern as he talks and is a bit hard to understand with his accent as he rattles off a lot of information that was way too technical for me. I start panicking as I realize what is going to have to happen soon. Next, they leave as I put on the gown. When they come back in, there are no transitions or peppy small talk. Nope. Up I go to the table and soon I have the medical student, the nurse, and the doctor all staring… at, ahem, me as I go through this check up. It felt like one of those dreams where you show up to work naked. Having three people I just met there compared to the typical one was just so odd and I had to keep myself from laughing in the moment. I know I almost lost it at one point and had this goofy look on my face. But thank goodness, I soon was on my way. And will now be dreading my next appointment.

Anyone else have any awkward doctor stories?

 

2 thoughts on “A Follow Up to the Male Gynecologist Post

  1. It’s almost as bad as my gyno closing her eyes during the appointment! So awkward. Although you’re better than me, because I burst out laughing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

