A Very Non-Jane Austen Approach to Single Life

My BFF Emily and I were talking about being single the other day via email. She said something that I thought perfectly articulated what I was thinking: “I can’t tell whether or not I just say I want a boyfriend because that’s the right thing to say.” Isn’t it weird that as soon as you break up with someone you feel pressured to jump into the next relationship ASAP or else you are edging closer to dying a spinster? Even if you don’t subscribe to that philosophy it still gets beaten into you so bad that as soon as Emily said that very accurate statement, I realized that that I had the very same attitude towards dating. Don’t get me wrong, relationships can be the most amazing, transcendent experience. But they require so much work! I don’t want to date for the sake of dating. I want to find someone who can talk Fitzgerald and the classics with me, or launch into a discussion/debate on the latest episode of Homeland or Parks and Rec. I want someone who doesn’t take themselves too seriously because I most definitely don’t. I don’t expect perfection in any person including myself, but I do understand that I would rather be on my own than with someone who makes me feel lonely. Another bonus of being single: a lot of reading/Netflix time (and I don’t even have to make sure my significant other wants to watch “Orange is the New Black”–I can cater to everyone of my television whims)!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

