Easy Gyro recipe

Image courtesy of "Cooking Amid Chaos" blog

Image courtesy of “Cooking Amid Chaos” blog

Now that I’ve began my life here in Marshall, I’ve been trying out some new recipes that hopefully are weekday friendly and that Kevin will eat (he’s a pickier eater than me, though he has gotten better about trying new recipes). Tonight, I stretched Kevin’s comfort zone by trying out an easy gyro recipe I found at a blog called “Cooking Amid Chaos,” which has great and simple recipes that are kid-friendly, aka Kevin-friendly haha. Here’s the recipe & a picture. I am always the worst at snapping pics of my meals, since I’m usually famished by the time I get it done. I definitely promise to improve on this. I’ve included the image provided by “Cooking Amid Chaos”–check out their blog for some other great ideas for dinner and desserts! I’ve cut down the original recipe for 2 people, made some changes to health-ify it and kicked up the herbs and spices, for my personal preference. I love that they used ground beef, which is healthier (if use lean meat) and less pricey than lamb. I really loved it, as I got the gyro flavor in an easy way and was a different dinner than the usual recipes. Even Kevin ate it all!

Easy Gyro Recipe (for 2)

Cucumber Tzatziki sauce

1/3 or so of a peeled cucumber, cut into small pieces (you can add more if you are a big cucumber fan)

1/2 cup of light sour cream

1 tablespoon of oregano

1 teaspoon salt/pepper

2 tabespoons apple cider vinegar

1 garlic cloves or 2 teaspoons of garlic powder

“Gyro” Meat

3/4 pound ground beef (or could use ground turkey)

2 tablespoons oregano

1/2 tablespoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons onion powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

a splash of lemon/lemon juice

Toppings

diced tomatoes

feta cheese (A MUST HAVE)

lettuce

4-5 pitas or flatbread (Kevin and I used the Hungry Girl brand of flatbread to keep it healthier)

Directions

Brown the meat in a pan on medium heat with added seasonings.

To make sauce, combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor to blend. I sometimes even add spinach in to get Kevin to eat some haha.

Layer on pita/flatbread the meat, sauce, and toppings (the feta is totally the winning piece).

Ta-da! Easy dinner!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

