I am Sometimes an Awful Person

choc-bar-3-clip-artI am going to tell you a story. I mentioned it recently to Jamie, which caused me to erupt into giggles recounting because of it’s absurdity (and how terrible I come across in it). I will remind you beforehand that my appetite/my need to eat food that is bad for me is great. When I was studying abroad in Montpellier France in college, my roommate left for Paris on our last weekend there. Late one night, while watching the 4th hour or so of CNN (the only English language channel), I got hungry. I was exhausted from lack of sleep and watching the coverage of the Air France plane crash was not helping (I also hate flying). I saw that my roommate had a giant candy bar in the room. Yes, I ate it. I would replace it the next day, I vowed. And I did! But then I ate the replacement and never replaced that one.  My roommate never mentioned it and I never told her. Then again, I think I deserved it after surviving three weeks with her and Mathieu Chevalier, her stuffed animal wolf.  But that, my friends, is a whole other story…

2 thoughts on “I am Sometimes an Awful Person

  1. I am pretty sure that you were much more saintly to that particular roommate than I could have been, chocolate bars notwithstanding.

    Ohh my god. The memories of Mathieu are all rushing back….

    • Believe me, it got difficult towards the end when I would be writing and all of a sudden she would make Mathieu “talk” to me…I have pictures of Mathieu if you want them 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

