Come Closer

woolfI probably have said this several times but it is worth repeating: Virginia Woolf is my favorite author (well, tied with F. Scott Fitzgerald–). I have read many of her novels and each one I have to set down every few pages and just soak in the beauty of her words (as well as try not to be angry that I didn’t write those words myself). The Waves is such a gorgeously odd book told through the monologues of several characters. There is no clear cut plot that holds it together. However, it brings up such emotion into you while  reading it because the trials and loves of the characters feel so familiar. I thought I would share one of the best passages in the book (and really, of all literature). I had to bookmark the page as I return to it time after time. It has a pronounced poignancy but I find that at the heart of it swells with hope.

“But if one day you do not come after breakfast, if one day I see you in some looking-glass perhaps looking after another, if the telephone buzzes and buzzes in your empty room, I shall then, after unspeakable anguish, I shall then–for there is no end to the folly of the human heart–seek another, find another, you. Meanwhile, let us abolish the ticking of time’s clock with one blow. Come closer.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

