Seeing a Male Gynecologist: A Do or a Don’t?

dr office

So as a woman, one of the things I look least forward to is my annual exam with a gynecologist. Nothing like meeting a new doctor and then having their head near your lady parts a few minutes later.  UGH. Now that I’m living in a new town, again I have to meet a new gynecologist. As I made my appointment, I realized they scheduled me with a male doctor. Now, I didn’t want to make a big deal of it so I just let it go. But with my appointment next week, I’m really wondering if it will be massively more embarrassing or whether it really doesn’t matter who it is, it’s going to be an awkward experience no matter what gender the doctor is. I mean, at the U of M, I once had my first yearly exam by a lady dressed essentially in 1800s prairie clothing, long calico skirt and all. Which was a little strange since we were in Minneapolis in the summer and we weren’t traveling on the Oregon Trail together. She also tried to make weird jokes, which just made the whole thing bizarre. So hopefully at least Mr. Male Gynecologist doesn’t try to one up her in the doctor-appointments-I’d-rather-not-relive department.

Any other ladies out there see a male gynecologist? Or if you don’t, would you??

8 thoughts on “Seeing a Male Gynecologist: A Do or a Don’t?

  1. I would.. but honestly since I’ve had kids and about 15 male doctors and nurses have seen my lady parts I really don’t care anymore LOL

  2. It’s not that big of a deal. As long as they’re professional, of course. I had a female gyno once who closed her eyes during part of the exam and I started laughing. I had to tell her to please, please open her eyes. It was hilarious afterwards, but during, it was awkward as hell.

  3. Pingback: A Follow Up to the Male Gynecologist Post | Loyalty Binds Me

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

