Cooking for Two

I love that when I googled "cooking for two," I got this hilarious picture of one confused guy showing off his food to another. Let's say that's Old Kevin & I'm looking a little manly in my middle age.

I love that when I googled “cooking for two,” I got this hilarious picture of one confused guy showing off his food to another. Let’s say that’s Old Kevin & I’m looking a little manly in my middle age.

With Kevin and my long distance relationship FINALLY ending for good (YAY!!!), I’m going to have to start cooking for us and dazzling Kevin with my meals! When I lived alone for my year in grad school and for the two weeks here alone in Marshall, I’ve found cooking for one person really tough. I hate wasting food and many recipes are not tailored for one person. Luckily, this summer I had some practice cooking meals for Kevin and me. Overall, I think I’ve gotten good at cutting down large recipes to make it acceptable for 2 individuals. Also, thanks to Pinterest, I came across this awesome site called Reservations for Two. It has a ton of recipes that are Kevin-friendly (he’s a bit of a picky eater, though he has improved!) and made specifically for just two people. I also love that many of them involve not too many ingredients or too much time. That’s the one hard part about cooking–sometimes when you are just starting off at a house, you need to buy a bunch of basic ingredients and it can be hard if recipes have random stuff you know you won’t use again before it goes bad.  I’m looking forward to making this small chicken & rice casserole (or as those crazy Minnesotans call it, hot dish). Kevin loves comfort food like this and I like that I can sneak in some veggies to his diet! That plus a few other recipes as well as some packaged food from Trader Joe’s and we should be set!

Any tips for cooking for two people? I’m new to it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

