A Tiny House

I can’t quite explain it, but lately I can’t stop thinking about wanting to live in a tiny little house to write.

6a9d2ef8d27eb4a3090cd1d26dd6d987Maybe it would be in the woods or by the water… It is strange too as I have spent most of my life wanting a city life–that is even why I went to Minneapolis for college. I still want that too I suppose–yet I think the calm of isolation makes writing easier. Or perhaps it is just me getting old and hermit-y! How about you? Have you ever wanted to “just get away from it all”?

 

2 thoughts on “A Tiny House

  1. During my first summer as a counselor at a camp in northern MN I set up shop in this tiny, half-abandoned cabin in the woods, apart from the rest of camp. It only had one room which I filled with books of the correspondences of my favorite writers, books on craft, and a few of my favorite novels and collections of short stories. On weekends I used to take my big electric typewriter out onto this tiny screened-in porch that was attached to the cabin and set it up on a card table and write. That was the best place I’ve ever found to write. Thinking back on it feels mystical. The woods, the sounds of birds and squirrels and even fish, jumping on the surface of the nearby lake. The sunlight and the wind in the trees. Seriously. Mystical. I didn’t finish many stories there, but I did come up with major scenes or bits of dialogue that ended up in every successful story I wrote at college my senior year. I guess this is all just to say: yes, I’ve often wanted to return to such a place; to “just get away from it all.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

