That Old Diary

Is there anything that produces the kind of stinging embarrassment that reading your old diary entries from middle school or even high school brings? I have been writing in a diary since grade school, but those entries are a little less mortifying and more…well, adorable. Important entries include: “I love Clintin” (that would be Bill Clinton-proof that I was a good Democrat even in the second grade, Lewinsky scandal be damned!) or “I love Magic!” (I was not a preadolescent Wiccan-I was speaking of Magic, my dragon beanie baby who got a lot of diary attention). I think the best has to be when Jamie and I compared our entries post-September 11th. Jamie found her diary first and while a middle schooler can hardly find the right words to describe the horrific events of that day, Jamie managed to go beyond simply detailing the facts of that autumn day. Needless to say, I couldn’t wait to see what I had written-those are the kinds of things you want to share with your future children. Well, I opened up my diary and turns out that I had bigger things on my mind as my diary decided to forgo 9/11 and discuss the many charms of a certain crush of mine. I am probably not going to show my future children that one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

