Face to Face with Your Fears

This is not exactly going to be an inspirational post as the title suggests. This is the more realistic version that involves a lot of sweating, creative swearing, and a tiny bit of triumph.

dolphin_FotorI hate whales. I am just going to throw that out there. Specifically, killer whales. When J & I were toddlers, our parents brought us to Sea World and I ran out of the Shamu show all by myself. One moment I was there, the next I was gone. It didn’t get better when our brother Kyle became obsessed with the movie Free Willy. He was literally in the Free Willy fan club. Now imagine my distress when I found out that my siblings had signed me up for a dolphin swim in Mexico when we were there in June. Dolphins are too close to whales for my comfort. Actually, they may be more terrifying to be with in the water because they are smart–super villain smart. I was nervous and shaky the entire morning before the Dolphin swim, which didn’t get better when I caught sight of the animals in the water. I completely froze on the pier while repeating/moaning, “no no no no no no.” Of course, the employee working at the Dolphin Swim decided to choose me to do the most horrifying part of the experience as soon as I was in the water. This involved swimming way out into a very choppy ocean (bad enough in itself because I am an awful swimmer) and then having two dolphins come up behind you, position themselves under your feet, and then you stand up on them and ride them back to the group. Yeah, I chickened out and made someone else go first, but I did eventually do it. Afterwards I was shaky from the mixture of lack of food, adrenaline and absolute fear. Now that is what facing your fears feels like…kind of like you need a drink.

Are you irrationally scared of anything?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

