Movies in 4 Sentences

Kevin and I have very different taste in movies that luckily sometimes have the occasional overlap (yay superhero movies and the occasional dumb comedy!). Here is a quick rundown of movies I have seen in the last month or two and a brief 4 sentence review.

Before Midnight:

The third movie in my favorite trilogy, I had very high expectations for this movie. It met them all and is tied with “Before Sunset” as my favorite drama film. As someone in a fairly long relationship, I could see echoes of my own relationship in this film and where we are headed as we reach our 30s and 40s together. Heartbreaking, real, smart, and achingly relatable.

Man of Steel:

Obviously, this wasn’t Batman, even though it was aiming to be that dark and well crafted. Still, Amy Adams is kickass as always and Henry Cavill….well, I would watch two hours of him dancing to “Drive By” (seriously, I HATE that song. When it comes on the radio, it’s the one song my body literally rejects, my hand instantly changing the station). So yeah, worth seeing if you appreciate a hot man on the big screen. Not quite the man show that was “The Avengers” but still, worth a watch for that.

This is the End:

Not going to lie, I love Judd Apatow movies and all his typical gang of actors who join in the fun. While Judd Apatow didn’t direct this one (Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg wrote and directed it), you have Seth, Jonah Hill, James Franco, Jay Baruchel, and many others in small roles who are familiar in Apatow works (Martin Starr, Jason Segal) and not (Craig Robinson, Mindy Kaling, Emma Watson, Michael Cera, Aziz Ansari). I haven’t laughed this much at a movie in a long time and didn’t expect a comedy about the apocalypse to be so hilarious and also sweet (the bromance between Rogen and Baruchel is the heart of the story). Don’t miss it.

Star Trek-Into Darkness:

Benedict Cumberbatch is one of those guys who you can’t tell whether is good looking in a weird way or a weird looking guy who manages to look hot on occasion (I am fairly sure I am comfortable saying it is the former rather than the latter). Anyways, he plays Khan, the villain, incredibly well to make him more of a well-rounded character than the typical “bad guy.” While I didn’t enjoy this movie as much as the first Star Trek movie reboot, it was a fun escape that I would definitely watch again. Besides that, the man show theme of my recent movie watching continues with Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto (hot guy, terrible haircut) as well as the beforementioned Cumberbatch.

Pacific Rim:

I LOVE Guillermo del Toro and his incredible imagination that creates the horrifying and beautiful worlds he uses in his films. Pacific Rim may seem like another apocalyptic monster movie with Transformer-like robots but de Toro keeps it new and fresh with an awesome cast (yay for a multicultural cast for a big action film and one where a girl gets to be more than just eye candy!). While I couldn’t stop thinking of alcohol when I heard the name of the monster-fighting machines (“Jaegers”–come on, what would you picture??), the graphics and kaijus showed de Toro’s genius when it comes to creepy monsters. The man show is here as well, with Idris Elba and the main guy (I guess for some people. He isn’t my type so I refuse to waste the time to google his name–hey this is my blog! I can do what I want!).

Anyone else seen any good (or bad) movies lately? I still can’t wait to see “The Heat!”

One thought on “Movies in 4 Sentences

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

A Quiet Voice in a Loud World

Just a voice in this noisy place we call earth. Talking about just about anything and everything.

Loyalty Binds Me

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

Live Half Full

Making the Most of Every Day

Picture & Poem

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

p.s. it's handmade

Twins on life apart in the adult world. Navigating Love, Jobs, Fashion, Food, and More Scary Grown Up Things.

Awaiting on You All

A place to formulate ideas, inspirations, and practice

